FD-12: Electromagnetic Metamaterials from Radio-Frequencies to the Visible

Andrea Alù

Sunday, July 19, 08:00 - 17:00


This short course will provide a broad introduction to the field of electromagnetic metamaterials, covering a wide range of topics, from the theoretical approaches to study anomalous wave propagation in arrays of inclusions near resonance and the relevant challenges in describing the wave propagation in these arrays in terms of a homogeneous material, to their application in a variety of fields of research and over a wide spectrum of frequencies. After a background on homogenization theory and proper modeling of metamaterials, the course will focus on various exciting properties and applications of metamaterials, in order to realize electromagnetic cloaks, negative-index materials, sub-diffractive waveguides and antennas, enhanced nonlinearities and nonreciprocity, sensing, imaging and energy harvesting devices, nanocircuits and nanoantennas, and various other exciting wave phenomena. I will discuss in detail how these concepts may be applied to overcome current technological challenges and provide breakthroughs in applied fields related to electromagnetics, radio-science and optics.


Andrea Alù is an Associate Professor and the David & Doris Lybarger Endowed Faculty Fellow in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. He received his PhD from the University of Roma Tre, Italy, in 2007 and, after a postdoc at the University of Pennsylvania, he joined the faculty of the University of Texas at Austin in 2009. His current research interests span over a broad range of areas, including metamaterials and plasmonics, electromagnetics, optics, photonics and acoustics. He is the co-author of an edited book on optical antennas, 22 book chapters, over 400 conference papers, and over 250 journal papers in the top journals in science and engineering. Dr. Alù is a Fellow of IEEE and OSA, and has received several scientific awards, including the OSA Adolph Lomb Medal (2013), the IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer award (2014), the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics (2014), the Franco Strazzabosco Award for Engineers (2013), the SPIE Early Career Investigator Award (2012), the URSI Issac Koga Gold Medal (2011), an NSF CAREER award (2010), the AFOSR and the DTRA Young Investigator Awards (2010, 2011). He serves on the Editorial Board of Advanced Materials and Scientific Reports, is an Associate Editor of five journals, including the IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters and Optics Express and has been elected an APS Outstanding Referee since 2014. He has been serving as OSA Traveling Lecturer (since 2010), as IEEE AP-S Distinguished Lecturer (since 2014), and as the IEEE joint AP-S and MTT-S chapter chair for Central Texas (since 2011).